Databases

LTC Students! CLICK HERE to access passwords for these databases and other free databases during COVID 19.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier screenshot

Academic Search Premier covers a range of subjects.

You will find full text scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and other valuable resources.

Artfilms logo Sept 2019

Artfilms lets you watch art films online anytime, anywhere.
Masterclasses, documentaries, interviews, content that can entertain, educate and inform: Artfilms streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers.

Useful for Visual and Performing Arts, film making, History, Politics, Psychology, Design and Fashion and more.

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre

ANZ Points of View screenshot

Australia/New Zealand Points of View contains resources that present multiple sides of a current issue — including information on key topics of interest to Australia/New Zealand researchers.

This database is helpful for developing persuasive arguments and essays, better understanding controversial issues and developing analytical thinking skills.

Libraries ACT Databases – Public library card and PIN needed.  

As a College student with a public library card, you have access to the public library’s databases.  Visit the Libraries ACT “Online Resources” page.

From this page, you can also search the National Library’s database, Trove, for resources from over 1000 libraries around Australia (including images, newspapers and more!).

We recommend the following databases to LTC students: 

 Name  Most useful for…  Name   Most useful for…
Gale in Context: Science  Provides information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. Includes full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. Britannica in three versions:

  1. Adults
  2. Teens
  3. Kids

(Encyclopedias)

1000 times better than Wikipedia for your reference list!

  • General information about a topic
  • Links to other reliable sites
  • Translates into 50+ languages.
Literature Resource Centre Offers a representative range of authors and their works, including a large collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. Health and Wellness Resource Centre  Reliable academic journals and other magazines about:

  • Diseases
  • Drugs
  • Nutrition
  • Health Issues
  • Therapies and Treatments
Gale Interactive Science A comprehensive view of the most-studied science subjects. Digital content is paired with interactive 3D models with functionality including zooming in, rotating, or pulling them apart.

Would be useful for :

  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Earth Science
  • Anatomy

and more.

Gale in Context: World History  Full text history information.